COMMUNITY: Pinoy Winnipegers honored at the 2nd Golden Balangay Awards

Mental health advocate Winnipeger Loizza Aquino bagged the  Young Leader of the Year award in the recently concluded   nationwide search honoring outstanding Filipino Canadians, the 2018 Golden Balangay Awards.

Another Winnipegger  Judianne Jayme of Mabuhay TV and Culture Card was  given Excellence Award in Media.   Co-host and Mabuhay TV founder/producer  Lourdes Federis  was also nominated in the same category.

Another pride of Winnipeg who was nominated  under  the Community Leader Award  was  204 Neighborhood Watch’s  Leila Castro

Winnipeg  musician  Raffy Ramiro  (a.k.a. Raffy Swap One) acted as  one of  the judges  and was also a  guest performer of  the ceremony.  Last year,  Raffy  received the  Golden Balangay Award for  Music and Entertainment and was nominated in two other categories.

The red carpet gala  took place  Sept 8, 2018 at BMO Institute of Learning in Toronto.

Other  Pinoy kababayans   from other Canadian cities  who demonstrate excellence in their chosen fields and  made  significant impact to society were honored  under 19 categories that includes education,  arts, music,  business, career and community service among others.

A Posthumous Lifetime Achievement Award  honors the legacy of the  late Senator Tobias Jun Enverga.



In her social media post,  Youth Against Mental Health Stigma founder  Loizza shares, “This is a tribute to young women, to youth, the people of colour, and to immigrants, especially Filipinos to show and inspire the different minorities that make up who I am. That it should not hinder success, but instigate and inspire.”

Judianne  who was not present at the award shares “I am proof that anything is possible when you take action and have the right people in your corner cheering you on and raising you up.”





Multi-awarded  singer and multi-instrumentalist  Raffy Swap One is the   owner of  Raffy’s Café Live Music Restaurant.  

He is founder and band Leader  of Swap Six Band  where he acts as  drummer, vocalist,  sax and trombone player, guitarist and bassist.



This is the second year of Golden Balangay Awards.   A  symbolic turn over of   “sagwan”  by  founders  Ronnie Dela Gana and Jovy Favila to Winnipeg delegates was highlighted in the event.    This means Winnipeg will host  next year’s awards night.

In its  website, it says  Golden Balangay  aims to promote excellence, hard work, higher education, entrepreneurship, public service, positive relationships and community involvement.   Nominations are open to the public.    

The complete list of  winners and nominees this year   and other  details can be found at


(Information and photo credit:   Golden Balangay, 204 Live Music’s Jhayzon Paredes, Raffy Swap One, Loizza Aquino, Judianne Jayme, Leila Castro, Laarni Resurecion and Lourdes Federis).

Posted in All Stories, Community News

CKJS @iHeart Radio

clear sky
humidity: 74%
wind: 5m/s S
H -1 • L -1
Weather from OpenWeatherMap

+ Upcoming Events

  1. UB40 2019 TOUR

    September 13 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

+ On-Air & Shows