COMMUNITY: MLA Flor Marcelino, honored as one of women trailblazers in Manitoba


Filipino-Canadian MLA Flor Marcelino is one of the 18 female legislatives trailblazers who were honoured   Tuesday,  Aug 28  at the Manitoba Legislature  for  their contribution being the “first”  in  Manitoba’s  history for  the past  100 years (1916 to 2016).


The citation celebrates   the achievements of women who were or are in positions that are traditionally held by men.


In a social media post,  Marcelino  said “I was surprised but humbled and grateful for the honour.  Thank you. I dedicate this to all women in our multicultural community, especially the youth. “

MLA Flor is the first visible minority woman elected to legislature, the first woman appointed to cabinet and the only woman to lead NDP.   While being  MLA for Logan, she held the position  being  Manitoba interim NDP leader   and was minister of culture, heritage and tourism in Greg Selinger’s government.



Other honored trailblazers are as follows:

Edith Rogers – first woman elected as MLA.
Elin Salome Halldorson – first Icelandic woman elected.
Thelma Forbes – first female speaker, first female cabinet member.
Muriel Smith – first female Deputy Premier.
Sharon Carstairs – first woman to lead an Official Opposition Party.
Bonnie Mitchelson – longest serving female MLA, only woman to lead the provincial Progressive Conservative party.
Rosemary Vodrey – first woman appointed as Minister of Justice and Attorney General.
Rosann Wowchuk – first female Agriculture Minister, first female Minister of Finance.
Myrna Driedger – founder of Nellie McClung Foundation, first Manitoban to chair the Canadian Region of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians.
Theresa Oswald – first female Minister of Health.
Amanda Lathlin – first Indigenous woman elected.
Carol Bellringer – first female Auditor General.
Patricia Chaychuk – first female Clerk of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly.
Irene Hamilton – first female Provincial Ombudsman.
Janet Mirwaldt – first female Children’s Advocate.
Shirley Strutt – first female Legislative Counsel.
Shipra Verna – first female Chief Electoral Officer.

Check out their photos displayed at the 2nd floor of the
Manitoba Legislature across the western door of the Chamber.



Congratulations to all the honorees.

To  MLA Flor, Marcelino – thank you for making the Filipino community proud with all your contributions to Manitoba and for all your achievements! Mabuhay!


Posted in All Stories, Community News

CKJS @iHeart Radio

clear sky
humidity: 74%
wind: 5m/s S
H -1 • L -1
Weather from OpenWeatherMap

+ Upcoming Events

  1. The Red River Ex

    June 14 @ 12:00 pm - June 23 @ 11:30 pm
  2. Winnipeg Harvest Multi-Faith Summer Food Drive Block Party

    June 22 @ 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  3. Team Canada vs Nigeria Basketball Game

    August 9 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
  4. UB40 2019 TOUR

    September 13 @ 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

+ On-Air & Shows